top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMr. Krom-EWG Counselor

College....My ticket to the Money?

I get this question a lot, "Do I need to go to college?", the answer is not as simple as "Yes" or "No". There are many things to consider. This is the advice I give to students or parents when I get this question asked to me.

>While I don't always think "College" is a must, I do think having a marketable skill is. Can you do something that very few people can? An accountant must pass a state licensing test to become a CPA. By doing this, she can do things very few people can and in return, she will earn more money. A plumber must learn every aspect of the trade and then pass a state licensing test. Generally, an account goes to college to prepare for the state test while a plumber learns through an apprenticeship program, the end result, both are prepared to take the state test.

>While a plumber hasn't gone to "College", she has gained knowledge, experience and expertise in her field. Like any journey, there are many ways to get there. It truly depends on what you want and how you want to get there. Neither is wrong, it is truly up to you.

>I also think personality, work ethic, attitude and interest become very important in your decision. Every job, career has expectations, responsibilities and requirements that one must follow. Getting know yourself and who you are become extremely important. Teachers are asked to get up in front of a class on a daily basis and present. Someone that finds public speaking difficult may struggle with the daily expectations of a teacher. A roofer must work every day on a building's roof at various heights. If you are uncomfortable with heights, you might struggle with this expectation everyday. It is important to know "You".

>Understanding who you are, what you enjoy, what you like and don't like, can be very beneficial when choosing a career. Also, researching, exploring and experiencing the variety of jobs/careers that are available to you will also help drive your passion. For a student to know what is expected of them, what the job entails and what responsibilities they will have become important. If I don't like heights, with a little research, I will discover that becoming a roofer is not for me. But, working with my hands is something I enjoy, woodworking could be an interest.

>Another thing to consider, the amount of time, energy and money that it will take to accomplish your goals. What would it cost me to become an accountant? I must factor in all these things: How much will college cost? How long will it take me to become and accountant and do I have the discipline to do what is asked of me for that span of time. What sacrifices will I have to make during this time? Am I willing to put in the time and energy for that amount of time? Do I have the money to do this? Have I done my research, do I know what an accountant does? All of this must be considered.

>I have many students tell me, "I want to become a doctor". What a great, noble profession. We need more doctors. When we begin to dig deeper into why, they answer inevitably becomes about the money. Now don't get me wrong, money is important but it should not be the driving force behind your decision. Becoming a doctor is very difficult. The schooling is long and difficult and exhausting. You are required to put in many long hours of studying, interning and shadowing. The cost to become a doctor for many is astronomical. When you finally become a doctor, after many years of sacrifice, hard work and sleepless nights, you must repay those loans, pay high cost insurance premiums and carry the responsibility of having someone's life in your hands. Is the money you are making worth it? That is what you have to think about.

>One stat that I am constantly hearing about or seeing is about college students changing their major. Around 70% of all college students will change their major at least once. This change can possibly require more college, more money, more sacrifice, a loss of motivation, along with a host of other issues. Why is this number so high? I think for most students, 17-18, is very young to make decisions about their future. Many haven't had the opportunity to explore, research or even mature and grow up. So, should kids not college?

I think students need to spend more time getting to know their likes, dislikes, what drives them, what their passions are. Money is a motivator, but at what cost? They need to figure out a balance. Understanding what will make them happy, while providing them with a satisfying, happy life. So how does college play into this? EXPLORATION!

Bottom line. Students need to look at every opportunity. Weigh every decision. Devise a plan that will provide them with the ability to do something that others can't. How many brain surgeons are there in the world, very few. What does that mean? They demand more money. The more education, knowledge, skills, certifications, licenses, etc, that you posses, the more money you can demand. You can provide a skill that others can't. What you have to figure out, how do I go about developing, gaining this knowledge, education, skill, license.

Once you begin to understand who you are and what motivates you and you start to explore those things that interest you, you can develop a plan. The plan that you create will lead you to the best possible approach to gaining the necessary skills, education, knowledge needed to accomplish your goals. It starts from within and develops from there.




19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page